FIVE40 Social House

TAPAS TAPAS TAPAS! Being a food connoisseur like I am tapas always intrigue me because I can try all the things! A fairly new place has opened in Kennesaw Ga called FIVE40 Social house. Its tucked in a plaza on Barrett Parkway and thanks to Scout Mob I found out about it. Its only been open for about a year and the “bringing Buckhead to Kennesaw” idea is pretty spot on. The interior of the restaurant is “loungy’ sleek, modern, and very cozy, definitely a place you would want to throw back a couple of drinks with friends before feasting. I also found out they have live music on the weekends, hookahs, and I’m assuming it turns into a sort of club/bar scene at night.

I started out my experience (after a long talk with the very nice owner) with a Cucumber Ginger Martini. Cucumber vodka, YUM, Ginger Vodka, YUM, Ginger Beer, YUM & Lime. It was pretty awesome. Very Refreshing, but we aren’t here to talk about the drinks.

FIVE40 has a small but well balanced menu. I had about 9 of the dishes while I was there (ill only highlight a few), and no I wasn’t alone. First up to bat was the Chorizo Cheese dip served with grilled pita & chips. The Dip was very good, well balanced with the salty meat and creamy cheese. The Pita didn’t work for me personally (they didn’t scoop up the Chorizo like I wanted) but thankfully there were back up chips. Next I had Jamaican Codfish Fritters  (I would recommend this if you go) with a blackened remoulade sauce, AH-MAZ-ING. The fish was fried to crispy perfection and the sauce was PERFECT! The Smoked Gouda Mac -N- Cheese with caramelized shallots was good too, I’m a sucked for mac-n-cheese… the shallots really added depth to the smokiness of this dish! The Braised pork shank with herb mashed potatoes & au jus was very tender and flavorful as well my only complaint was the ratio of meat to potatoes, but hey it is tapas.

IMG_25131IMG_25151IMG_25181IMG_25261IMG_25221

All in all the quality of the food matched the price, the service was good, the chef came out and spoke with us (which I as a chef myself personally love) and I would say for a night with friends, drinks, and good food to pass around this is the place to be. Check it out. Tell them I sent you!

Full for now,

Kara

Leave a Reply

